Onion & Mushroom Pork Chops and Rice

15 Jul

It’s hot here in Texas…and by hot, I mean unbearably hot. I melt off a few pounds every time I step outside.

I dream of Alaska, of last February when we had inches upon inches of snow and -10 degree temperatures, and of drowning myself in a pool full of ice cream. Unfortunately, I know none of these dreams will come true anytime soon, so I have to do what I can to keep cool.

Turning on the oven to cook does not seem like a good way to keep cool, but I’ve avoided using my oven for months now and I can’t take it anymore. Luckily, the meal I made last night only cooks in the oven for an hour and a half, and I only have to open the oven door twice: to insert said meal and to take it out. If you’re looking for a meal to cook in the oven that won’t take very long and is incredibly simple to create, then this is the recipe for you.

I love chicken and rice that has cream of mushroom soup in it, and this recipe is a delicious adaptation that doesn’t stray too far from the original. You can make it with different types of rice and meats, but I prefer to use white rice and boneless pork chops; the pork chops are way juicier and more tender than if you use chicken breasts.

Onion & Mushroom Pork Chops and Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can cream of celery soup
  • 1 1/2 cup white rice (you can use brown rice, but it may take over 2 hours to cook)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder (I don’t measure the garlic powder, so this is just an estimate)
  • 2 boneless butterfly pork chops, cut in half (so 4 pork chops in all)
  • 1 pkg. dry onion soup mix (if you don’t like real salty stuff, use just half a package of dry onion soup mix)
  • half a package of button mushrooms, cut in quarters (you can cut them however you like, I like cutting them in quarters so they’re not so big and not so small)

Directions:

  1. Mix soups, milk, rice, garlic powder, and mushrooms together in a medium sized bowl.

      2. Pour your bowl o’ mix into a greased, 2 inch deep 9×13 glass baking pan. Place pork chops over mix and sprinkle dry onion soup mix over everything.

 3.  Cover dish with foil and bake at 350 degrees for one and a half hours. Serves 4-5 people.

Fresh out of the oven...

 Recipe adapted from my brain & my mom’s old recipe box.

This meal is so simple, it’s not even funny. If you are new to cooking, or if you are looking for a quick, easy, and delicious meal to make for dinner, then this recipe is perfect for you. I recommend serving it with fresh, buttered broccoli…it compliments the meal wonderfully. Another great side dish for this meal is to cook the remaining half a package of button mushrooms in a pot, drowning them in butter. It takes only a few minutes, just let the butter & mushrooms boil for a few minutes, then strain the mushrooms out and onto a plate. Voila! Dinner is served.

Leave a comment